We're moving warehouses! There might be a slight delay in your shipment. Thank you for your patience!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Amazing Grace: The Complete Recordings 4 LP + Print Bundle



Amazing Grace: The Complete Recordings 4 LP + Print Bundle

Availability: Out of stock


Price as configured: $0.00


Be the first to review this product

* Required Fields


This limited edition and EXCLUSIVE bundle features the Amazing Grace: The Complete Recordings 4 LP along with a very special and high quality print made specifically for this release. Only available while supplies last.

AMAZING GRACE: THE COMPLETE RECORDINGS is issued on vinyl for the first time ever. The set includes four, 180-gram LPs that contain both of Aretha's transcendent performances at the New Temple Missionary Baptist Church, which were recorded in Los Angeles on January 13 and 14, 1972. 

Among the many signature moments that make up Franklin's remarkable career, these performances clearly stand out as some of her finest work. They were recorded over two nights as the singer performed church standards like "Precious Memories," "What A Friend We Have In Jesus" and "How I Got Over," the latter written by gospel legend Clara Ward, who was listening in the audience. The performances were also attended by Franklin's father, the famed Reverend C.L. Franklin; Clara Ward and Mother Ward of the Ward Family Singers; and Mick Jagger and Charlie Watts of the Rolling Stones, who were in town recording Exile On Main Street.

Originally released on June 1, 1972, Amazing Grace would go on to sell more than two million copies in the in U.S. alone. It was not only the best-selling album of Franklin's career, but it still also holds the record as the best-selling live gospel album of all time. In addition, the album also earned Franklin a Grammy award, her first for Best Soul Gospel Performance. 

Originally, Amazing Grace included 13 songs, plus remarks by Reverend C.L. Franklin. In 1999, the album was remastered and expanded to include all the recordings from both nights. 

Track Listing

Thursday Night Show (1/13/72)

Side One
1.    Organ Introduction ("On Our Way") - Ken Lupper 
2.    Opening Remarks - Rev. James Cleveland    
3.    "On Our Way" - Southern California Community Choir
4.    Aretha's Introduction - Rev. James Cleveland
5.    "Wholy Holy"
6.    "You'll Never Walk Alone"

Side Two
1.    "What A Friend We Have In Jesus"
2.    "Precious Memories" - With Rev. James Cleveland
3.    "How I Got Over"

Side Three
1.    "Precious Lord, Take My Hand / You've Got A Friend"
2.    "Climbing Higher Mountains"
3.    "Give Yourself To Jesus"

Side Four 
1.    "Amazing Grace"
2.    "My Sweet Lord" - Instrumental

Friday Night Show (1/14/72)
Side Five
1.    Organ Introduction ("On Our Way") and Opening Remarks - Ken Lupper & Rev. James Cleveland 
2.    "On Our Way" - Southern California Community Choir
3.    Aretha's Introduction - Rev. James Cleveland
4.    "What A Friend We Have In Jesus"
5.    "Wholy Holy"

Side Six
1.    "Climbing Higher Mountains"
2.    "God Will Take Care Of You"
3.    "Old Landmark"

Side Seven
1.    "Mary, Don't You Weep" 
2.    "Never Grow Old"

Side Eight
1.    Remarks By Reverend C.L. Franklin
2.    "Precious Memories" - With Rev. James Cleveland
3.    "My Sweet Lord" - Instrumental