The Monkees


SKU: #081227892005
5 out of 5 Customer Rating

Config/Selection: A / ROGV-126

Units per set: 2

UPC #: 081227892005

SRP: 34.98

Pre-order opens: 10/9/2020

Pre-order closes: 11/9/2020

Shipping 7/9/21


  • Kevin Grey and Andrew Sandoval cut lacquers from the original analog stereo tapes for maximum Monkees-fidelity!
  • Includes a second LP of bonus tracks: 2 previously unissued songs and 2 new mixes exclusive to this set. All tracks making their vinyl debut in these mixes
  • Pressed on 2-180g records, comes in a deluxe tip-on style gatefold jacket and features never-before-seen photos and new liner notes by Monkees historian and manager, Andrew Sandoval. 
  • Exclusive transparent yellow vinyl edition limited to the first 1000 orders



One of the most recognizable names in the annals of pop music history, The Monkees are an American rock and pop band originally active between 1966 and 1971, with reunion albums and tours in the decades that followed. The original line up was Micky Dolenz, Michael Nesmith, Peter Tork and Davy Jones. The group was conceived in 1965 by TV producers Bob Rafelson and Bert Schneider specifically for the sit-com series The Monkees, which aired from 1966 to 1968. The music was originally supervised by record producer Don Kirschner, backed by the songwriting duo of Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart. The four actor/musicians were initially allowed only limited roles in the recording studio for the first few months of their five-year career as “The Monkees.” This was due in part to the amount of time required to film the tv series. Mike Nesmith composed and produced songs from the beginning, Tork contributed guitar work on the Nesmith-produced sessions, while all four contributed vocals on various tracks. They eventually fought for the right to collectively supervise all music output under the band’s name, acting as actors, musicians, singers, songwriters and producers. Inspired by the Beatles’ film “A Hard Day’s Night” “The Monkees” TV show was picked up as a series by Screen Gems TV in 1965 and the musical side of the project accelerated. Columbia-Screen Gems and RCA Victor entered into a joint venture called Colgems Records primarily to distribute Monkees records. The Monkees self-titled debut and second albums were meant to be a soundtrack to the first season of the TV show, to cash in on the audience. Within a few months of their debut album, music supervisor Don Kirshner was dismissed and The Monkees took control as a real band over deceptive musician credits and how the band was incorrectly marketed to the public. Their first single, “Last Train To Clarksville” b/w “Take A Giant Step,” was released in August 1966, just weeks prior to the TV broadcast debut. In conjunction with the first broadcast of the TV show on September 12, 1966, NBC and Columbia had a major hit. The first long-playing album, The Monkees; was released a month later; it spent 13 weeks at #1 and stayed on the Billboard charts for 78 weeks. Twenty years later, during their reunion, it spent another 24 weeks on the Billboard charts. After working on set all day, the Monkees (usually Dolenz or Jones) would be called into the recording studio to cut vocal tracks, As the band was essential to this aspect of the recording process, there were few limits on how long they could spend in the studio and the result was an extensive catalog of unreleased recordings. Following the TV show’s cancellation in 1968, the Monkees continued to record music until 1971, after which the group broke up. A revival of interest in the TV show came in 1986, which led to a series of reunion tours and new records. The group has reunited and toured several times since then with different line-ups (but always containing Micky Dolenz and another original member). Jones died in February 2012 and Tork died in February 2019. Dolenz and Nesmith remain active members of the group. The success of the show led to the actor-musicians becoming one of the most successful bands of the 1960s. The Monkees have sold more than 75 million records worldwide making them one of the biggest selling groups of all time with international hits, including “Last Train to Clarksville,” “Pleasant Valley Sunday,” “Daydream Believer,” and “I’m A Believer.” Newspapers and magazines have reported that the Monkees outsold the Beatles and the Rolling Stones combined in 1967, but Nesmith admitted in his autobiography “Infinite Tuesday,” that it was a lie that he told a reporter! If voted in this month, ROG will reissue their iconic debut album as a deluxe 2LP set with bonus tracks (several of which are unreleased mixes) and have lacquers cut from the analog tapes for the first time since 1966; creating THE DEFINITIVE version of this album since original release!


Track Listing

Side A

1 (Theme From) The Monkees (stereo mix) 2:20

2 Saturday’s Child (stereo mix) 2:44

3 I Wanna Be Free (stereo mix) 2:25

4 Tomorrow’s Gonna Be Another Day (stereo mix) 2:41

5 Papa Gene’s Blues (stereo mix) 2:01

6 Take A Giant Step (stereo mix) 2:37

Side B

1 Last Train To Clarksville (stereo mix) 2:47

2 This Just Doesn’t Seem To Be My Day (stereo mix) 2:08

3 Let’s Dance On (stereo mix) 2:30

4 I’ll Be True To You (stereo mix) 2:49

5 Sweet Young Thing (stereo mix) 1:56

6 Gonna Buy Me A Dog (stereo mix) 2:39

Side C

1 The Monkees (radio spot) (previously unissued) 2:12

2 (Theme From) The Monkees (TV version) (unissued on vinyl) 0:50

3 This Just Doesn’t Seem To Be My Day (mono TV version) (unissued on vinyl) 2:14

4 All The King’s Horses (mono TV version) (unissued on vinyl) 2:12

5 I Wanna Be Free (fast version – mono TV mix) (unissued on vinyl) 2:38

6 You Just May Be The One (mono TV version) (unissued on vinyl) 1:54

7 Take A Giant Step (mono TV version) (unissued on vinyl) 2:29

Side D

1 (Theme From) The Monkees (second version) (unissued on vinyl) 0:50

2 Saturday’s Child (mono TV version) (unissued on vinyl) 2:26

3 I Don’t Think You know Me (2014 remix) (previously unissued) 2:29

4 So Goes Love (2020 remix) (previously unissued) 3:26

5 I Can’t Get Her Off My Mind (2014 remix) (previously unissued) 2:50

6 (I Prithee) Do Not Ask For Love (2020 remix) (previously unissued) 2:58

7 I Wanna Be Free (demo – take 5) (previously unissued) 1:00